West Mayo Brigade

Irish Republican Army

In 1921 the West Mayo Brigade was split into four battalions with a total of 46 companies.

The attached typed lists were compiled by Vincent Keane and the supporting handwritten lists were supplied by Sean Cadden

West Mayo comprised of four battalions:
No 1 Castlebar
No 2 Newport
No 3 Westport
No 4 Louisburgh

A letter denoted the names of the company of volunteers in each battalion. 
For example, Westport “A” company, 3rd Battalion, West Mayo Brigade.

Active Service Unit (ASU), consisted of IRA members, who volunteered to become active in the War of Independence.

Click the Map to View Battalion