Centenary of the War of Independence

Westport – Friday 27th August

West Mayo Brigade Active Service Unit

Photographed 21 June 1921 at Derrymartin, Lahardane, Co Mayo

Group (L to R) Back, standing: Michael Kilroy, Tommy Kitterick, Ned Moane, Johnny Gibbons, Joe Walsh, P.J Cannon, Paddy “Butch” Lambert, Jim Kelly, Josie Doherty, James “Broddie” Malone, Jim Rush, Joe Ring. Middle: Martin Naughton, Ned Hogan, Jim Harney, Dan Sammon, John Keane, Jack Connelly, William “Rick” Joyce, Patrick McNamara, Willie Malone. Front: Dan Gavin, Tommy Heavey, Johnny Duffy, John McDonagh, P.J Kelly, Jim Moran, Jimmy Flaherty, Bartley Cryan, Michael Staunton. Lying in front: Doctor John Madden
Corner Pictures: Top Left: Paddy Duffy, Top Right: Joe Baker,
Bottom Left: M Gallagher, Bottom Right: T Ainsworth

This Photograph was taken while the ASU was billeted in Derrymartin. The professional photographer was JJ (Jack) Leonard, a member of the Lahardane company of the IRA, who lived in Bofeenaun. © Printed with permission of the Leonard Collection

West Mayo War of Independence Timeline